Separation Anxiety

I am not sure if the reason I don’t have kids is because I have arts/crafts or the other way around.  I’ve heard it said that making stuff is generating a similar type of creative force… creating something instead of someone.. but surely when there is love involved in the process, one feels a certain sentimental pull towards that creation.  So it’s completely understandable that sometimes I feel a need to memorialize the moment when a certain item passes out of my hands in to another’s… like this ring I made back in the 90’s when I was trying very hard to ‘make it’ as a jewelry designer in NY. 

I still have the mold for it, but this is the only one I had cast up so far.  The nice hipster  kids that bought it were so cute and they seemed so in love; when he tried it on and her face lit up, I thought, ‘yup!’  It just fit him perfectly, and seemed like an omen that they should be together.  I hope I’m not hexing anything by saying so, but if they should read this, I do hope they stay together.  They are adorable. (of course they did look a little puzzled when I asked to take that picture, since I probably did act a little weird.)

Leave a Reply

