Pottery, Please

It’s really kind of funny. I was a lucky brat who grew up in a neat ‘century modern’ house (though back then it was called ‘gently used’) with artsy parents who carefully collected and traded for lots of nifty sculptures, pottery, and a few drawings. Dad was an illustrator and taught classes at East Texas State University. At the time, pottery was enjoying a resurgence in popularity, and so I suppose when one of the other art teachers wanted to trade for an illustration they often had pottery to trade. There were (and mostly still are) some pretty awesome pieces. Yet the pottery was never my favorite. I always prefered the bright modern slickness of the plexi tube with multiple color rings that hung from the ceiling in the kitchen, and the weird shiny fiberglass piana-like-thing that hung on the wall in the playroom.

So why is it that I am only now growing a fascination for pottery? I love the sculptural shapeliness of course, but I’m also really drawn into the textures of the glazes. Check these out, from Heath Ceramics:

s13-14-heath-seasonal-hybrid-bud-vase-set-heath-orange-opaque-white-731by607

More posts on potters, pottery, and ceramics to come!

2 thoughts on “Pottery, Please

  1. Hi! I love hearing about your childhood! You should look for Lynn Armstrong on Pinterest. She has soooo many cool pins of pottery—-you would love it!!

    • Thanks, Libby! I will look for her. I love her pottery too, and have told her on every occasion that I get.
      Am so proud of her getting her patterned circle and heart wall pockets into Redentas. I love their product mix.
      I should be so lucky. But she’s a professional who has earned her stripes.

Leave a Reply

