Happy Valentine’s Month

What does Valentine’s Day mean for you?  I can only speak for myself, but my general response generally runs the gamut of microemotional shades – as quick as watercolors fade into paper – ranging from alarm and fear, followed by worry, followed by silly joy, and then fading back down into resignation and disgust.

What is it, really?  A pre-fab, Hallmark Holiday with a bizarre history that somehow includes elements of a storyline involving cupids armed with arrows,  boxes of chocolates, roses, diamond jewelry, cards, and a dead saint.  At least half of this list is made up, out of place, or overpriced.

So in the past few years, gals (and a few precocious guys) have decided to start celebrating themselves – or at least the love they have for the people that they are, not who they *should* be or some perfect ideation of beauty – and called it Galentine’s Day.  While I generally hold my nose at attempts to re-name holidays with cute rhymes, I can’t say this one does any more harm to anyone than the original.  As such, to everyone, I say – Have a Happy Galentine’s Day!  Stay true to your personal selves and treat yourself, if you wish, with a locally made, non-diamond, non-rose, non-chocolate alternative.  Insert shameless self promotion here!  

IMG_2110

 

 

Leave a comment